TISA - Tax Incentivised Savings Association - Council

Retirement Policy Council

Retirement Policy Council

The prime aim of the Retirement Policy Council will be to ensure that policy is developed to support good outcomes for consumers and support them in making the appropriate level of savings for their future retirement needs. Further, the council is committed to ensuring that there is a strong and competitive market, and an appropriate regulatory environment for the retirement industry in the UK.

The key drivers for development include:

• Retirement income freedoms will increase the demand and opportunity for advice and guidance aimed at facilitating de accumulation of assets and provision of income streams for retirees.
• Roll out of auto-enrolment.
• Implementation of automated transfers.
• Changes to morbidity and longevity will drive changes in products and the market.
• Strategic need for new products to meet need of retirees as demand for individual annuities collapses.

The council’s main policy themes for 2015/16 include:

• Successfully implement the pension freedom reforms.
• Support initiatives, such as PLIG, that aim to protect consumers from scams.
• Increase contribution levels for AE through auto escalation with a target of 12%.
• Develop with DWP practicable solution to deliver automated transfers.
• Develop policy on early access to pension funds in light of Budget changes to ISAs.
• Replace wake up packs with simplified pensions passport.
• Abolish lifetime allowance, but retain annual pension allowance.

Scroll down to view the Retirement Policy Council members. TISA members can log in to gain access to meeting minutes.

Manifesto Summary

TISA Lead: Peter Smith

Secretariat: Marita Margerum

Chair: Jamie Jenkins (Standard Life Ltd)

Deputy Chair: Rob Reid (Syndaxi Financial Planning)

Mike Morrison (AJ Bell)
Gregg McClymont (Aberdeen Asset Management)
Lucy Bristow/Samina Kauser (Ascentric)
Ben Cocks/Hugo Thorman (Altus Ltd)
Edmund Downes (Aviva)
Ellice Reason/Matt Pratt/Joanne King/Andy Zanelli  (AXA Wealth)
Kirsty Worgan (Bravura Solutions)
Charles Gillespie (Close Brothers Group)
Clive Wragg/Tim James/Adrienne Redrup (Cofunds)
David Cartwright (Defaqto)
Natanje Holt (Dunstan Thomas Holdings)
Henry Cobbe (Elston Consulting)
Damien McDonald (Engage Insight Ltd)
Francis Moore (European Pensions Management Ltd)
John Graves (FIL Administration Ltd)
Paul Gilbody (Friends Life)
Adam Potter (HSBC)
Tom McPhail/Danny Cox (Hargreaves Lansdown)
Chris Selden/Simon Jenvey (IFDS)
Adrian Boulding/Colin Clarke (L & G plc)
John Moret (MoretoSIPPS)
Tony Gillet (Morningstar)
Mark Austin/Ray Bloom (Northern Trust)
Jon Gwinnett (Nucleus Financial)
Adrian Walker/Jon Greer (Old Mutual Wealth)
Sarah Phillips/Ed Stanley (Pershing)
Peter Cottingham/Tom Wailoo/Jonathan Sandell (Prudential)
Jacquie Burberry (Rathbone Bros Plc)
Gareth Shaw (SAGA)
John Porteous/Andy James (Towry)
Rod McKie